header image of people on sunny beach 3

Stewardship Projects

Caring for our home

Our volunteers get out to the beaches and nearshore habitats to help remove unwanted marine debris, pull invasive plants, collect hazardous fishing line, plant native plants, and clean interpretive shoreline signs.  In 2022, we planted trees in honor of retired board members who served between 2016 and 2021.

See where we work

Check out our interactive map showcasing all our projects across Whidbey and Camano Islands.

Jan Holmes Coastal Volunteer Of the Year Award


Jan Holmes
Jan Holmes

The Jan Holmes Island County Coastal Volunteer of the Year Award is named to honor the memory of Jan Holmes, an Island County resident and WSU Island County Beach Watcher/Sound Water Steward who was an exemplary marine scientist, educator and champion for stewardship of the marine environment.

In recognition of the continuing need for volunteers to carry on this important cause, the Jan Holmes Island County Coastal Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually to one individual engaged in service, science or outreach relating to the health of Island County’s marine environment and whose work adds to knowledge about and/or protection of county marine waters and coastal resources.

Nominations are open to anyone, regardless of organization or affiliation. The intent of the award is to encourage and recognize the achievements of volunteers who work to understand, protect and restore the marine waters and coastal resources of Island County.

The award is sponsored by the Island County Marine Resources Committee (MRC), Sound Water Stewards (SWS), and Washington State University (WSU) Island County Extension. A committee representing the three sponsoring organizations selects one winner. The award is presented during the opening ceremonies of Sound Waters University, an annual one-day university held on the first Saturday in February.

Award Winners

2023 Winner
2022 Winner
2021 Winner
2020 Winner
2018 Winner
2017 Winner
2016 Winner
2015 Winner
2014 Winner
2013 Winner
2012 Winner
2011 Winner