Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Whidbey Intertidal Monitoring 2023

Event Series Event Series (See All)

May 8, 2023 @ 9:00 am 12:30 pm

Contact Jeanie McElwain if you have questions, 812-340-1259

Find the Beach Leads contact details (email or phone) in the Member Directory.

Captains Set Up a half hour before start time.

To sign up, find the shift matching the dates you desire in VolunteerMatters

(Beach Leads use “self report” to log hours for your early arrival, plus planning and paperwork.)

Here is the Schedule: (print this schedule)

1) Ala Spit, April 11, Tues, Start at 1:45, Low -1.27 @ 3:56 pm, Lead Sara Dore
2) Partridge Point (quadrats/species), May 7, Sun, Start at 9:30 am, LOW -2.1 ft @ 11:33 am, Lead Robbin Boyatt
3) Partridge Point (profile/species), May 8, Mon, Start at 9:00 am, LOW -2.34 ft @ 12:17 pm, Lead Robbin Boyatt
4) South Lagoon, May 9, Tues, Start at 10:30 am, LOW -2.66 ft @ 2:05 pm, Leads Lee Smith, Deborah Baird, Lachlan Pope
5) Coupeville Town Park, May 21, Sun, Start at 10:00 am, LOW  -2.35 ft @ 12:49 am, Lead Jeanie McElwain
6) Rosario (Profile/Quadrats), May 22, Mon, start at 9:00 am, LOW  -2.0 ft @ 12:24 pm, Lead Jeanie McElwain
7) Cornet Bay, May 23, Tues, start at 12:00 pm, LOW -1.43 ft @ 2:25 pm, Lead Sara Dore
8) Double Bluff/Wahl, June 5, Mon, start at 9:00 am, LOW -3.64 ft @ 12:19 pm, Leads Lee Chavez, Suzy McDowell
9) Rosario Species, June 7, start at 9:00 am, LOW -2.84t @ 1:10 pm, Lead Jeanie McElwain –
To maintain the health of the Rosario Tidepools, only a limited number of experienced monitors may participate by special arrangments in advance. Contact Jeanie McElwain to ask if you qualify and are needed.
10) Trail’s End, July 6, Thurs, start at 11:15 am, LOW -2.95 ft @ 1:51 pm, Lead Finn Gatewood
11) Possession Beach, August 1st, Tue, start at 9:00 am, Lead Sue Salveson
12) Langley Seawall, Aug 29, Tues, start at 8:00 am, LOW -2.36 ft @ 10:02 am, Lead Judy Hucka
13) Old Clinton, Aug 30, Wed, start at 8:30 am, low -2.36 ft @ 10:50 am, Lead Patrice Lunn
species ID on low tide